The Simple Trick That Made Me a Better Person

The trick is inspired by the book Atomic Habits by James Clear.

Atomic Habits is full of practical advice on how you can change your environment to build good habits and break bad ones. I enjoyed reading it. On Chapter 16 - How to Stick with Good Habits Every Day James explains how to keep your habits on track using a simple habit tracker.

A habit tracker is a simple way to measure whether one did a habit, by crossing off each day on a calendar.

I created a habit tracker on my own. I took a printout, wrote the habits I wanted to track, kept it in a place where I frequently visit - TV shelf where I used to keep my mobile too.

I started with small habits, habits that took less than 10 mins - read one page of Atomic Habits, take 10 long breaths, evening walk, brush before you go to bed. I was more specific on the habits I wanted to build. I didn't write "Exercise" but "do 5 pushups 5 lunges 5 squats".

I put ticks on my tracker whenever I finished a habit. I did it for a month and was feeling good about the progress I made. I gradually increased the habits if see a good number of ticks. I also went back to the minimal version if it didn't go well.

It's been almost a year since I started doing this, my daily routines have changed a lot, I've reduced my screen time (using social media, watching TV / YouTube) by a fair amount. I realized I have a plenty of time to work on my fitness, learn something new, have fun with my family.

2023 was a great year. Buying Atomic Habits was the one of the best decisions I ever made.

The complete habit tracker template: HabitTracker.pdf